Class 4 - Thursday 9th July
08 Jul 2020
Class 4 - Wednesday 8th July
07 Jul 2020
Class 4 - Tuesday 7th July
06 Jul 2020
Class 4 - Monday 6th July
04 Jul 2020
Class 4 - Friday 3rd July
02 Jul 2020
Class 4 - Thursday 2nd July
01 Jul 2020
Class 4 - Wednesday 1st July
30 Jun 2020
Class 4 - Tuesday 30th June
29 Jun 2020
Class 4 - Monday 29th June
27 Jun 2020
Your poems about being thankful
26 Jun 2020
Class 4 - Friday 26th June
25 Jun 2020
Class 4 - Thursday 25th June
24 Jun 2020
Class 4 - Wednesday 24th June
23 Jun 2020
Class 4 - Tuesday 23rd June
22 Jun 2020
Class 4 - Monday 22nd June
21 Jun 2020
Collective Worship Monday 22nd June
21 Jun 2020
Class 4 - this week's work!
19 Jun 2020
Class 4 - Friday 19th June
18 Jun 2020
Class 4 - Thursday 18th June
17 Jun 2020
Class 4 - Wednesday 17th June
16 Jun 2020
Class 4 - Tuesday 16th June
15 Jun 2020
Class 4 - Monday 15th June
13 Jun 2020
Class 4 - Friday 12th June
11 Jun 2020
Class 4 - Thursday 11th June
10 Jun 2020
Class 4 - Wednesday 10th June
09 Jun 2020
Class 4 - Tuesday 9th June
08 Jun 2020
Class 4 - Monday 8th June
06 Jun 2020
Class 4 - Friday 5th June
04 Jun 2020
Class 4 - Thursday 4th June
03 Jun 2020
Wednesday 3rd June
02 Jun 2020
Tuesday 2nd June
31 May 2020
1st June 2020
31 May 2020
Friday 22nd May
20 May 2020
Thursday 21st May
20 May 2020
Wednesday 20th May
19 May 2020
Tuesday 19th May
18 May 2020
Monday 18th May
17 May 2020
Friday 15th May
13 May 2020
Thursday 14th May
13 May 2020
Wednesday 13th May
12 May 2020
Tuesday 12th May
11 May 2020
Monday 11th May
10 May 2020
Wednesday 6th May
05 May 2020
Tuesday 5th May
04 May 2020
Thursday 7th May
03 May 2020
Monday 4th May
03 May 2020
Friday 1st May
29 Apr 2020
Thursday 30th April
28 Apr 2020
Wednesday 29th April
28 Apr 2020
Tuesday 28th April
25 Apr 2020
Monday 27th April
25 Apr 2020
Thursday 23rd April
22 Apr 2020
Friday 24th April
22 Apr 2020
Wednesday 22nd April
21 Apr 2020
Tuesday 21st April
20 Apr 2020
Welcome back - 20th April
19 Apr 2020
Easter break challenge
05 Apr 2020
Friday 3rd April
02 Apr 2020
Thursday 2nd April
01 Apr 2020
Wednesday 1st April 2020
31 Mar 2020
Tuesday 31st March 2020
30 Mar 2020
Monday 30th March
29 Mar 2020
Friday 27th March 2020
26 Mar 2020
Thursday 26th March 2020
25 Mar 2020
Wednesday 25th March 2020
24 Mar 2020
Tuesday 24th March 2020
23 Mar 2020
Monday 23rd March
22 Mar 2020
Good company
20 Mar 2020
Suggested activities
16 Mar 2020
Pilgrimage walk to Fountains Abbey
A Breckon
13 Mar 2020
World Book Day - Y5/6
A Breckon
06 Mar 2020
Ripon Grammar science
A.Breckon
28 Feb 2020
The Selfish Giant visit and more.
A Breckon
13 Feb 2020
Sketches
06 Feb 2020
Gymnastics competition
A Breckon
31 Jan 2020
War Horse
24 Jan 2020
Geography and the outdoors
A.Breckon
17 Jan 2020
A Christmas Carol production
A.Breckon
19 Dec 2019
Christmas wreaths
12 Dec 2019
Christmas rehearsals begin
21 Nov 2019
Children in need
A.Breckon
15 Nov 2019
Gurdwara visit
A.Breckon
07 Nov 2019
Author visit
A.Breckon
24 Oct 2019
Canopic Jars clay sculpting
A Breckon
17 Oct 2019
Swimming gala and Pump Room visit
A Breckon
04 Oct 2019
Cycling, hieroglyphics and more
A Breckon
26 Sep 2019
Death mask designing
19 Sep 2019
13th September
13 Sep 2019
First day back
06 Sep 2019
 

Class 4 - Tuesday 30th June

29 Jun 2020

Good Morning Class 4 
 

Morning all, I hope you're all ok today?

Thank you for all of the work you sent me yesterday. I love receiving it! I am in school again today, so don't think I'm being rude if I don't reply! 

To give you something to make you smile this morning, click on the below link and watch the video of Michel Rosen retelling his poem 'no breathing in class'. 


https://safeYouTube.net/w/j8JM

                                        
 Please remember to send me examples of your word to the class email address: class4@gfschools.co.uk

These are your tasks for today. Remember, you can do the tasks in any order, and you don't have to do everything if you don't have time. yes 



PE:
  

 
 Have a look at the below link. There are lots of ideas for different PE type activities that you could do at home; give one a go!


https://www.harrogatessp.com/keeping-all-young-people-active/


Maths task: 
                                                                                                                                                
 
If you haven't watched the video from yesterday's maths lesson then please watch it now. You'll find it at the link below.

 
https://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize/topics/zjbg87h/articles/zcrxtyc 

Using sugar cubes, marshmallows or cubes if you have them,  I'd like you to make a shape with a volume of 24 centimetres cubed. How many different shapes can you make? Can you draw each shape you make? Will you make more or less shapes if you are given a bigger volume? 

                                                                                                               
Grammar task:       

I have attached a grammar activity sheet for you this morning. Click on the correct one for your year group:

 
-Year 5 grammar 11.docx-  

 
-Year 6 grammar 11.docx-  


I will put the answers up tomorrow so that you can see how you got on. 

 
Writing task: 
  
Today I would like you to create an information leaflet about the new mode of transport, that you deisgned yesterday. 

I would like you to include information about: how it works; what it looks like; safety procedures whilst on board; what destinations the vehicle travels to; and how long travel time is.

Try to make your leaflet as engaging as possible. As usual, you can do this by hand or on the computer. 


             

Reading task: 
                                                                                                                                    

 
Nothing has changed here...I would still like you to read for 30 minutes! Ideally, I would like you to read your school reading book or a book that is similar in difficulty. However, if you choose to read something else then that's ok too. As long as you're reading, I'm happy! smiley


 
Learning project:

The focus for this week's project is 'transport'. 
 
 The projects this week aim to provide opportunities for you to learn more about transport. Learning may focus on modes of transport, transport in the past, the science behind transport, road safety and how to be safe around water. 
 
This afternoon, you can either finish the project you started yesterday or start a new one.  smiley
 

Is it a Bird? Is it a Plane?- ​I would like you to choose a major city from each continent and look at the population’s primary mode of public transport, e.g. rickshaws and Skytrain in Bangkok, Asia, the Tube in London, Europe etc. Then can you create a fact-sheet showing each city’s most popular mode of transport and decide which is your favourite, providing reasons for your opinions.

 ● Creativity in the Underground- ​Many of the London Underground tube stations have their own unique, ​tiled designs​.​ Can you think of your own London Underground tube station name, and create a tile design to accompany it. You could simply draw the design using crayons, felt tips or paint. Alternatively, you may choose to represent the design in the form of a collage, cutting out your own tiles of paper, newspaper, magazines, cardboard, or whatever you have access to at home. There are some examples at the link below. 

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1HMWXyBWnw8ARFp9TtUdlZ_h3tNWAj4dvd2IXoREY3Ds/edit

 ● From Horse-Drawn Cart to Jumbo Jet- ​I would like you to select 10 modes of transport from throughout history, using the below ​link to help you​. I'd like you to research the modes of transport and present them on a timeline, writing a description for each one, explaining what it was and who would have used it - bonus points for including the inventors!

https://thekidshouldseethis.com/post/an-animated-history-of-transportation-through-the-centuries

 ● Faster Than a Speeding Bullet...Train- ​The Shanghai Maglev, also known as Shanghai Transrapid, is currently the fastest train in the world, running between Shanghai and Beijing in China. Can you be just as speedy and complete the following 5 activities as fast as possible: Star jumps, tuck jumps, press-ups, squats and lunges. Record how many repetitions of each activity you can perform in 1 minute. Can you beat your personal best? Can you record your heart rate (beats per minute) after each activity. ​

 ● Make and Do - Make it Go!- ​Have a go at this ​hover balloon activity​.
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Wormmv1fghIGVtBWyM_bgK8Dw1Mu_CzGLEDI67qHCvw/edit
You will need the following equipment: CD, bottle top with push/pull closure, like those on some sports drinks or water bottles, blu-tack or glue and a balloon.
Alternatively, you could have a go at creating a ​baking powder powered boat​.
https://www.science-sparks.com/baking-soda-powered-boat/
You will need the following equipment: empty water bottle, baking powder, kitchen roll or tissue, scissors, straw, vinegar, sellotape.
If you don’t have access to this equipment, you can watch and read about the experiments and can discuss with your favourite, providing reasons for your opinions.



Have a great day everyone.

Take care 


Mrs Barker
 smiley
 
Go to the page-top

Please wait


Copyright © 2020  Grewelthorpe C of E Primary School    Website Terms & Conditions
53  


Selct an hour and a minute and then click on Set Time

Selected Time:  _:_

Hours
Minutes
 
Set Time