Welcome back
19 Mar 2021
Friday 5th March
04 Mar 2021
World Book Day
03 Mar 2021
Wednesday 3rd March
02 Mar 2021
Tuesday 2nd March
01 Mar 2021
Monday 1st March
28 Feb 2021
Friday 26th Feb
24 Feb 2021
Thursday 25th Feb
24 Feb 2021
Feb 24th - Non Screen day
23 Feb 2021
Tuesday 23rd Feb
21 Feb 2021
Monday 22nd Feb
18 Feb 2021
Friday 12th Feb
11 Feb 2021
Thursday 11th Feb
10 Feb 2021
Weds 10th Feb
09 Feb 2021
Tuesday 9th Feb
08 Feb 2021
Monday 8th Feb
07 Feb 2021
Friday 5th Feb
04 Feb 2021
Thursday 4th Feb
03 Feb 2021
Wednesday 3rd Feb
02 Feb 2021
Tuesday 2nd Feb
01 Feb 2021
Monday 1st Feb
31 Jan 2021
Friday 29th Jan
28 Jan 2021
Thursday 28th Jan
27 Jan 2021
Wednesday 27th Jan
26 Jan 2021
Tuesday 26th Jan
25 Jan 2021
Monday 25th January
24 Jan 2021
Friday 22nd Jan
21 Jan 2021
Thursday 21st January
20 Jan 2021
Wednesday 20th Jan
19 Jan 2021
Tuesday 19th Jan
18 Jan 2021
Monday 18th Jan
16 Jan 2021
Friday 15th January
14 Jan 2021
Thursday 14th January
13 Jan 2021
Wednesday 13th January
12 Jan 2021
Tuesday 12th January
11 Jan 2021
Monday 11th January
10 Jan 2021
Friday 8th January
07 Jan 2021
Reading Books
06 Jan 2021
Thursday 7th January
06 Jan 2021
Successful Singing exams
18 Dec 2020
Christmas Party
11 Dec 2020
Author visit
04 Dec 2020
Emotive poetry and watercolour art
24 Nov 2020
Roman buildings and Cross Country
20 Nov 2020
Homework link
12 Nov 2020
Class 4's Collective Worship
11 Nov 2020
Class 4 meet Olivia
06 Nov 2020
Class 4's experience of Forest Schools
23 Oct 2020
Look at our work
16 Oct 2020
Celtic battle
02 Oct 2020
Happy birthday Dan
01 Oct 2020
25th September 2020
26 Sep 2020
First week back
A.Breckon
20 Sep 2020
Welcome Back
04 Sep 2020


ARCHIVE


ARCHIVE
 

Welcome back

19 Mar 2021

It's nice to be back into a routine and see all our friends again. I'm really pleased with how we've all returned ready to learn. 

Since we've been back, we started a new writing topic looking at the well-known poem, The highwayman. It's great for infering and making predictions. The poem is about a highwayman and a young lady who are in love, and plan to meet the following night, sadly their plans are overheard and the result ends in disaster. 
Before we learnt the whole story, the children had to guess who the main characters were and what the plot might entail. We had some very creative predictions, all with fantastic inference but nobody correctly predicted the actual ending. 
 

 
This week, we started on newspaper reports, following on from the background work we did in home-school, to capture the dramatic events. I'll look forward to loading some finished pieces next week. 

We also are putting up a display to showcase our different genres of writing, all on the highwayman, and so we began using chalks and pastels to sketch scenes from the story. Using smudging, blending and colour-tone techniques. 


 



 
And finally, in DT we're looking at making smoothies. We investigated the senses and appeal of various ingredients used to make smoothies before trying some established recipes and then tweaking them to see if we could enhance them. 

We made some, urrrm, interesting flavours which I'd say aren't quite up to marketing yet but that's all part of the evaluation process. We look forward to next week when we can make our own smoothies which are planned around certain flavours and themes. 




 
I hope you all have a lovely weekend and we're looking forward to being back at school for the last week before Easter


 
 
Go to the page-top

Please wait


Copyright © 2021  Grewelthorpe C of E Primary School    Website Terms & Conditions
24  


Selct an hour and a minute and then click on Set Time

Selected Time:  _:_

Hours
Minutes
 
Set Time